8 Things to Not Camp Without!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

As I’ve stated before, each year I try something new… Pinterest is definitely my weakness and I’m always scoping out new ideas, or trying to adapt an idea from there, to the amazing world of camping in the great outdoors.

I have come up with a list of things you should absolutely not leave home for a camping trip without.

1. Wipes

Just like any well-prepared mom, you know that when your kids are little, not to leave home without the baby wipes. They are indispensible when you are out camping! They don’t have to be “baby wipes”, per se. You can get any kind of disposable wipes. While we do have a water jug, soap and a towel handy at our campsite, sometimes you just need something quicker. When preparing food outdoors, you can’t always go touching everything on your way to wash your hands… and this is where wipes come in handy. And of course, some things never change, your kids will almost always make some sort of mess, right?

wipes

2. Antibacterial Wipes

I’m listing this seperately because there’s clean, and then there’s antibacterial clean. When you’re handling meat, like bacon, or your pre-made, frozen crockpot meatloaf, you don’t want to risk contaminating anything else you might be preparing. These wipes will save the day! Another thing I like to do is wipe down the tablecloth on the picnic table before we eat. Those chipmunks and squirrels really DO get everywhere.

disinwipes

3. Hanging Shoe Organizer

This is huge for me, I was sooo happy with this when I set up our kitchen tent this year. Usually, we just toss all of our camping items in the totes and store them in the kitchen tent, usually under the ends of the picnic table. Then, when you’re fumbling around, in the dark, looking for those roasting sticks for hotdogs and/or marshmallows, you are digging through absolutely everything you’ve already used that day, plus making a complete racket. This invention is the solution to that problem.

kitchentent

I actually borrowed it from my oldest son, who was using it for some odds and ends in his bedroom (at the time of this post, he hasn’t replaced it, even though I’ve returned it to him… maybe it will go “missing”?) I packed the hooks it comes with, just in case they would work with our gazebo/kitchen tent, turns out, they did. I hung it up, and I had all kinds of pockets to sort all of our cutlery, wipes, cooking spray, paper towels, foil & zipper-topped bags… Anytime someone asked for something, BOOM! It was in front of them because it was soooo much easier to access.

4. S-Hooks

You can buy these at any hardware store, in various sizes. You can see in the above photo, I have bags hanging off to the side, some pretty, dollar store oven mitts, etc. They’re all hanging with S-hooks. LIFESAVERS!

5. Plastic Tablecloth with Seat Covers

I don’t have a photo for these, because every selection in every store is different. I bought a set, white-and-red gingham-patterned, for $4.97 @ Walmart, in the sporting goods department, namely, the camping area. You really do get what you pay for… this set was pretty cheap and thin, however, for $5, even using it for the 5 days we camped, it was worth it to me. And, it’s recyclable, so you don’t even have to clean it and pack it to come home. (For the record, I did, because I think I can get at least one more season out of it before getting rid of it!)

6. The Crockpot

Also known as “glamping”, as I’ve stated before, if you are lucky enough to get an electrical campsite, this baby is going to save you a lot of time in the wilderness. Prep and freeze all your meals in advance, store in large zipper-topped bags. Pop into the crockpot (minus the bag 😉 obviously), and set to high or low, depending on what your activities are for the day.

This is NOT to say that quick, easy and delicious meals cannot be made without a crockpot. Of course they can… but since we went electric, I seem to have forgotten most of them!

7. Your Tassimo/Keurig

Go ahead. Laugh it up. I’ll wait.

Finished? No? Okay… I’ll wait a little longer…

Okay, REALLY, that’s enough 😛

If you’re bringing the crockpot, you may as well bring your gourmet coffeemaker. People have laughed at us ever since we first started bringing it with us. We met family members for breakfast one morning, and offered coffee… while the kids sipped on their hot chocolates. There was some disbelieving giggles. The laughter ended quickly once they were sipping their drinks!

Think about it. These babies make everything. Tea. Coffee. Hot Chocolate. Lattes. Cappucinos. Heck, they even make iced tea and iced coffee. Why NOT bring it? Instead of packing coffee, tea and hot chocolate all seperately, you buy your favourite cups, bring one machine, and voila! I find it much easier to put all my Tassimo discs in one zipper-topped bag, and go.

As far as “glamping” goes, we’re well aware that this is the limit. =) However, there is something to be said for the people who bring RVs, fully loaded with air conditioning, WiFi, showers, the works. I’ll stick to my Tassimo, thankyouverymuch.

8. Disposable Dishcloths on a Roll

Got a greasy mess after cooking bacon and eggs on the griddle? The crockpot meatloaf left the dishcloth orange? Toss it into the fire, and grab a new one! Done!

washcloths

These items are definitely the most important ones to us… what can you NOT live without when you go camping?

Leave a Reply

