A Day Spent in Niagara Falls

niagarafalls

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I know not everyone who has me in their reading list is living on my continent, but if you should ever in the vicinity of Niagara Falls, one of the 7 wonders in the world, you MUST visit.

I am Jackson Triggs’ biggest fan, so when I saw the sign, I practically started drooling… my husband asked me if I wanted to stop for a quick photo… Um YES PLEASE!

Jackson Triggs

Living an hour away from Niagara Falls all my life, I guess it’s not really a wonder to me, but it is definitely beautiful, and wonderfully majestic. One of my favourite movies was filmed there, Niagara, starring Marilyn Monroe, and it’s neat to pick out landmarks and even my hometown’s name on the bus schedule in that movie! (Fun fact, the hotel that Marilyn’s character stayed in with her husband in that movie were built JUST for that movie, and torn down after filming.)

We visited Drummond Hill Cemetery to see the graves of people who died in the War of 1812. Our son, Tyler, has always been fascinated by the War of 1812, and he enjoyed visiting the cemetery, as did we. There were many graves there from that particular war, and among them was the grave of Laura Secord. I had no idea that her grave was there, and I was in awe, reading the inscriptions on her tombstone.

Laura Secord

Laura Secord

I packed us a big, deli sandwich, using a whole loaf of sourdough bread. I packed some drinks and snacks and we just spent the day, enjoying the drive, and enjoying the views when we got there. I am always floored by how busy it is there, but then I think of the few times my husband and I visited Manhattan and just wanted to see EVERYTHING, and that puts it all into perspective for me.

We stopped in the visitor’s area and saw a plaque that showed the erosion over the centuries, it was pretty fascinating but I didn’t get a photo of it 😦 I really wish I had!

My parents brought my brothers and me over to the U.S. side once, when we were younger, and I remember it wasn’t very impressive. Now, I love my U.S. neighbours to bits, but, they really got gypped. The Canadian side of the Falls is definitely THE best view.

Niagara Falls

After we took MANY photos of the Falls, we wandered back up the strip and took photos of the fall foliage. It was still pretty nice out, temperature-wise. Then we drove a little bit and visited Niagara-on-the-Lake. It is a cute little town full of shops and history.

Niagara Falls strip

We stopped in a pub called The Olde Angel Inn, it was Tyler’s recommendation (yes, fellow moms, I was a little worried but he had been there before when his class went to the Shaw Festival).

Tyler was telling us that the Inn is haunted, by the ghost of Captain Colin Swayze, a British Captain in the War. Apparently, there have been accounts of him turning on hand-dryers in the Inn and rearranging the dishes. If the Union Jack is removed from above the Inn door, his ghost disrupts the guests. When it needs to be taken down to be cleaned, another must replace it. How awesome is that? I LOVE stories like this! When we were there, our glasses were moving on the table by themselves. It may have been from the condensation on the glasses, but it would be so cool if it was the ghost moving them! We had Caleb convinced it was.

Anyway… it was a beautiful way to spend a Sunday. Checking out the views and history in another city, I just find it all so interesting, and I’m really not much a history buff, like Tyler is, but it’s neat to see how things tie together.

If you’re ever in the area, definitely make time to see Niagara Falls… and if you’ve been, what did you think?

7 thoughts on “A Day Spent in Niagara Falls

  1. Nicola says:

    Hi there! I’ve just found your blog and I loved this post so I’ll definitely be reading more!
    I’m from England and have visited Niagara Falls once. I loved it. There were so many other tourists there though and it was very commercialized. I really like the sound of Niagara-on-the-Lake, it sounds a bit more peaceful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karina - My Letters of Transit says:

    Beautiful photos! I particularly love the rainbow one! I have only been to Niagra Falls once and it was definitely an unforgettable experience. It’s so awesome that you have it close by to explore whenever you want, sounds like it makes for a fantastic day trip. I love the history you weave into the post as well, it’s my favorite part of traveling and visiting new places.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ddr_74 says:

      Thank you, I’m so glad you enjoyed it… it was fun to write about! You would think I visit there pretty frequently but truthfully, it’s been a few years.. it was definitely time to revisit! I look forward to checking out your blog πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

