Childhood Revisited

childhood_revisited

Isn’t it funny how vague a lot of our memories are from when we were younger?

I remember feeling so carefree, but unless it was a major event, I don’t remember a lot of specifics. Back when the biggest catastrophe was who was and who wasn’t your friend that day.

I remember playing with my neighbourhood friends, who were also my classmates. Back then, the big thing was collecting beads and making friendship bracelets and friendship pins. For the on-again, and off-again friends. LOL!

I remember building blanket forts on the front porch of our house. I remember my mom making homemade popsicles for my friends and I, and long, lazy summer days. I remember trying to sneak out of the front yard to go JUST down the street to play with a friend who couldn’t come to my house. No matter how many times I tried, my mom was onto me, and always yelled for me to get back in the yard.

I remember when the recession happened in the early eighties, and my mom was pregnant with my youngest brother. I remember my dad’s devastation when him and my mom lost the house, and we had to move. I remember looking at other houses, and I remember not liking the smells of those houses we looked at. None of them were home.

I remember moving into the townhouse, and my cousins and I playing while our parents did all of the work. We got in trouble. We were each sent to a different room for a time-out.

I remember my mom and dad dropping us off at our aunt’s house when she went into labour with my brother. I remember showing my new baby brother off to my new friends. I was so excited. I had a real-life doll! He grew into a trouble-maker and liked to pull my hair as he ran past me, or grind my first lipsticks into my carpet.

Life seemed so simple then. So endless… no worries or stress. An enjoyable day was playing outside with your friends, from lunch time till dusk.

However, even though my kids will never know those same carefree days, I feel blessed to have the technology we have today, in addition to my childhood memories.

What was your childhood like?

Childhood Revisited

6 thoughts on “Childhood Revisited

Leave a Reply

