Just No

JustNo

Recently I was in the background in a video while my husband danced with a roasting pan. True story.

I was less impressed with what you could see of me than his performance. It made me grateful that I’m doing 21DF! I think I’ll be heading to round two for that one!

As much as I dislike photos or videos of myself, I despise my voice most of all.

Growing up in the 70s and 80s, my father would record my brothers and I talking. It was before video cameras were in full force so this was his way of preserving our youth so he could play it back later. And he definitely did. What happened to my voice? It used to be cute!

At one time, I wanted to be a deejay. Yup… me. I think it was around grade 8, and I was actually writing songs (lyrics to songs, I couldn’t write actual music). That dream was short-lived, as I knew I did not have the voice for it. When I listen to Parker on Slacker, I’m jealous of how smooth and sexy she sounds. I sound absolutely nothing like that.

In my teen years, it was the age of meeting boys and talking to them on the phone. One actually said I sounded like a guy. Nice. Thanks for that, dude. See ya.

Unfortunately, there is nothing I can do to change my voice (but I can use it less lol)… but I like that I’ve recently found my writing voice, and I like that a LOT better.

Which is worse for you; watching videos of yourself, or hearing your voice on a recording?

I found some answers here!

Can’t Stand Me

4 thoughts on “Just No

Leave a Reply

