Evergreen

Evergreen

My life has been touched by cancer.

Not me, personally. No one in my immediate family. Thank goodness.

A dear friend came over earlier today to announce that he has been undergoing some tests, especially after a recent trip to the emergency room, and the tests did not come back clear. Tears were shed as he told us the news.

This news comes just two months after an acquaintance passed from a similar cancer.

In the moments leading up to the news, I was in denial. I knew it was coming, and I knew it wasn’t good. I knew it was bad news, and it was scary and I felt as long as I played dumb, I could deny it was happening. This all took place in seconds. Literally. And then it was made extremely clear and finally, there was no more denying it.

The good news is that one, his parents have both had this type of cancer, and have been in remission for many years. Annual checkups have confirmed this. Two, while they have more tests to run, there is an aggressive action plan in place. The odds are good.

It’s still scary.

As I continue process the information, and think about the questions I asked him, I admire his strength, his positivity. I am feeling pretty positive about the situation myself, but I know this means nothing, in the long run. There are a million what-ifs and no one can guarantee the future.

Then I think of friends who have also been touched by cancer, through loved ones. It was selfish of me to think it wouldn’t hit me this close to home. Boom. Here it is. In my face.

This is not to say that some of our family members haven’t been diagnosed with cancer. But it seems strangely different when it’s your grandparents. Why is that? Why does it seem so much more tragic when the person is still so young?

When did this start happening to people of such young ages? I have an online friend who’s younger sister passed from cancer. They weren’t even in their teenage years yet. The acquaintance of ours was thirty-four. These people, these beautiful souls, had only just begun living.

Has this always been happening? Has cancer always been there, and we just didn’t know what it was, so we blamed another illness? Is it something we are pre-dispositioned for, something we are born with? Or is it more than that? Is it what we are exposing ourselves to? Foods, chemicals, the environment? These days, it sounds like everything causes cancer.

And, most importantly, is there a cure and “they” just don’t want to share it because fighting cancer is a billion-dollar industry?

One could go crazy with all of these questions and no clear answers.

I have an unshakeable confidence for my friend. I know he is in good hands, and the current health of his parents says something about the outcome of his surgery and treatment. I will be there, holding his hand in recovery after his surgery. I will be there for him when he undergoes chemo and feels like crap (no pun intended)… I will be there for my friend.

Love you, friend. ❤

6 thoughts on “Evergreen

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    I was 34 when I was diagnosed. St. Jude’s has been around a long time and they only deal with children. Cancer can happen to anyone, and some of it is carcinogens, some is genetic, and some is just bad luck.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. StylewithChris says:

    My aunt was diagnosed with cancer and I asked the same questions . What caused it? Is it something we are drinking or eating? Does it have anything to do with the environment? Is there a cure we are not being told about? It’s just sad and it breaks my heart because she did 5 surgeries already and all the cancer is doing is spread so she has to live with it. God Bless your friend. I hope everything turns out well. It’s crazy how nowadays people are being diagnosed with cancer at such young age.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

