The Eighth Sin

The Eighth Sin


Today, I’ve been given the task of adding a deadly sin to the list. So far we have: pride, lust, greed, envy wrath, gluttony and sloth.


I work in retail. I have spent most of my work life dealing in retail of some kind, and I’ve witnessed some pretty nasty things. It always blows me away how poorly we will treat anyone, in order to get what we want. We will even resort to tears if it means we will win this one. I’ve seen angry outbursts, and people swearing at complete strangers, all in an attempt to get what they want.


I have noticed how impatient we are as a species. Everyone seems to believe their time is more important than anyone else’s. In today’s society, everything is moving at an incredibly fast pace, and no one has time to wait for someone else to move out of the way, in their own time. I speak for myself on this one… I can be incredibly impatient… I’m working on it!


I have also witnessed the difference in how a lot of teenagers treat people, of any age. I’ve become exasperated and vented on Facebook about how a group of teenagers will walk side by side and take up the entire sidewalk, and not one will move over to let me pass. I’m expected to walk around them, in the mud, like they are royalty. One of them walked directly into me and, very vocally, gave me a hard time about it, because she felt I should have moved. Swearing and all.


It really surprises me that people are raising their kids to be this way. Everyone seems to feel self-entitlement, their needs are more important than anyone else’s. As a society, we need to practice more love, less hate. Live life with more kindness, and less indifference. Open our eyes and see that we NEED to be nicer to one another, we all need each other. We need more generosity and less greed when it comes to others.


After much deliberation and consideration, I’ve decided that RUDENESS will be added to the list of deadly sins.


When you head out today, for whatever reason, I challenge you to be kind to a stranger. Open a door for a senior citizen. Help a person out who is clearly struggling with their bags. Pay for the coffee for the person behind you in line. Sometimes, it’s as simple as giving a smile. Let’s all be kinder to each other. Today, and always.


The Eighth Sin

3 thoughts on “The Eighth Sin

  1. Terri Webster Schrandt says:

    OMG, Denise, this is all so true. Not just teens refusing to move out of the way, but adults! I don’t know how many times I have walked down a hallway in a store or somewhere and people are in a small group and see me coming, but make no effort to move, or give me room to pass. I just loudly say, “EXCUSE ME!” They move but not without dirty looks! Oddly, though, on campus, students move out of my way…I must look like a professor 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

