January 2016 Roundup

January 2016 Roundup

January was a pretty good month for us as a family, and for myself as a blogger. I am really enjoying the WordPress Daily Prompts, I love the challenge of writing about several topics and relating them to my own life. Here’s a breakdown of what’s been going on here at SMores and Sundresses:

My son, Tyler, shared his story about coming out. If you missed his brave and amazing story, you can catch up here.

I began my journey with 21 Day Fix… it’s been touch and go but I’ve lost a few pounds and I’m pleased with how it’s going. I plan to continue the program over the month of February. Read about my start here.

I shared my celebrity run-in from when I was a teenager… you can check it out here. It’s kind of funny, and it wouldn’t be a teen experience if it wasn’t at least a little awkward!

I wrote about a fun weekend shared with friends, which can be read here, and the music at that party can be checked out here.

I’ve shared the dreams of my husband and I, for our big vow renewal bash in two years, when we will be celebrating our 20th anniversary. Can you smell the pork? Find out here.

I compiled my bucket list! It’s pretty awesome to see it in black and white! I encourage you to write yours down as well! Check mine out by clicking here.

I also started a fan page for Smores & Sundresses to keep my posts separate from my personal Facebook page. Bloggers are welcome as well; I plan to have weekly threads for bloggers to share their top posts of the week, and non-bloggers will have an opportunity to check out some other great reads! Let’s share the love, join here.

I wrote to my younger self in a post, you can check it out here. Writing it was so much fun, the words and sentences just poured from my heart!

I shared my concern for a friend who was diagnosed with cancer. He goes in for a scan tomorrow to check his lymph nodes. He would sincerely appreciate your prayers.

I wrote about my experiences with technology throughout my life… maybe my story isn’t much different from yours?

Lastly, I have set aside some time to return blogger love out to the blogosphere and have retweeted posts from fellow bloggers under the hashtag #sundayblogshare. I love how it feels when someone helps to promote your writing, and I’ve been lucky to have received RTs, so I wanted to promote writing that I’ve personally enjoyed!

I am blessed with some pretty fantastic followers, both blogger friends and personal friends. It warms my heart to have you on board. Thank you!

5 thoughts on “January 2016 Roundup

  1. GeorgieMoon says:

    This is great. I thought of doing something similar myself but wasn’t sure if anyone would be interested. You make it sound fascinating, both good and bad bits! You include some useful links which I am going to follow up. I find that making links is very time consuming, and avoid it where possible, but maybe I could learn a better way of doing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ddr_74 says:

      I didn’t think anyone would read it either, but apparently I’m wrong lol. I use Evernote to write my posts, and in another window I open the post I want to copy the URL from. I just plug them all into what I’m writing in Evernote, and when I copy it all over to WordPress, I do the linkwork there. It’s a bit of a process but I found it fairly easy to do it this way. If you come across an easier/quicker way, please pass it along 🙂 And thank you so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • GeorgieMoon says:

        Thanks for the tip! I write on Pages, then copy it over. I always use my iPad to read and write posts, I should explore if there are any differences when using a laptop.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

