A Bird! A Plane! Me!

A Bird! A Plane! Me!

You get to choose one superpower. Pick one of these, and explain your choice:

  • the ability to speak and understand any language
  • the ability to travel through time
  • the ability to make any two people agree with each other

This is today’s daily prompt…

If I were being honest, I would say that I think everyone in the world should understand every single language. We usually know when two people speaking another language are talking about us, don’t we? I mean, it’s common sense. If you’re talking about someone, you’re usually looking at the person at different points in the conversation.

I have a pretty diverse work environment, and it would be nice to be able to understand what people of different nationalities are saying. It would reduce confusion, and likely reduce hurt feelings (because let’s face it, we all want to be understood).

My mother told me, growing up, that it was considered rude to speak another language in front of people who don’t speak it. So, if I were to go to France tomorrow, I should be brushing up on my French and making every attempt to speak the language while I’m there. The same is also true of people who come to the Americas. Learn the language. I sometimes find it frustrating that others have not been taught this simple act of politeness.

But if I were to choose a superpower, this wouldn’t be it, because I think it would be more beneficial for EVERYONE to know every language. Who knows? It could reduce violence and war on an international level.

Moving on, have you ever watched the movie, The Time Traveller’s Wife? It stars Rachel McAdams, and Eric Bana (yum). Henry travels through time, at a moment’s notice, with no warning whatsoever. He meets Clare when she is a little girl (because he travels back through time to meet her), and their paths intertwine. I won’t give the rest of the movie away, but if there were no way to control travelling through time, it wouldn’t be as fun as if you had control over it.

You could go back through time and meet relatives, famous poets and artists. You could meet Jesus, if you so chose (wouldn’t that be something!?) You could travel to the future and meet your great, great, great grandchildren. The problem with time travel is what a lot of books and movies show us; if you change one thing, it has a ripple effect and changes the outcome of the future.

Maybe we should just leave time to be linear and not mess with it.

I think, if I got to choose one of those superpowers, it would be to make any two people agree with one another, for the sake of peace.

Peace in my own home when the boys get into an argument. Peace between my teenager and either of his parents (hi!). But beyond that, think of how helpful this superpower would be in every day dealings. Traffic squabbles (is your signal light an option?). Shopping (I was in line next!). Work (less inequity).

But think of this on a grander scale. In politics, debates would be more fair. Laws passed would be agreed on by all parties. It would end wars, because the two sides would agree on everything they were fighting about. There would be no adversity between countries, religious parties, political parties, and it would restore world peace, and we could accomplish a great many things because we would agree on what the important issues were, and how to come to terms with each one.

Yup! That’s the superpower for me!

If you could pick one of those three powers, which one would it be and why?

A Bird, a Plane, You!

3 thoughts on “A Bird! A Plane! Me!

Leave a Reply

