Our Ring Story

Our Ring

My husband, Devin, and I met in 1993. It seems like eons ago, but at times, it seems like yesterday.

You can read about our first date here: It’s quite a story!

So we officially met in January of 1993, but nothing really came of it until April of the same year. We began officially dating (going steady) on May 17th, 1993. I remember a week later, celebrating Victoria Day with fireworks all around us and we were attached at the lips for the entire time… lol.

We were hanging out in his room one evening, a few months later, probably listening to Guns and Roses or Metallica (his thing, not necessarily mine, but I knew the music fairly well nevertheless). I’m sure he was out of the room when I came across a journal of his, and one of his entries stated, plain as day, “Propose to Denise”. ACK!

Most girls would be excited, ecstatic and thrilled.

I wasn’t.

I was surprised. Extremely shocked. How on earth did he know he wanted to spend the rest of his life with me? We’d only known each other for a few months! It was too soon.

This was serious, not something I could pretend I hadn’t seen. We needed to discuss it. So I asked him about it. “How do you know I’m THE ONE?”

He shrugged, and told me he didn’t know how he knew, he just did. It was a gut feeling.

I was still not convinced. I had no such feeling. I mean, not yet. Sure, that’s the goal when you’re dating someone. You hope that it progresses to the point where you just know and you go out and get married. It’s entirely the whole point of dating: finding that special someone who knows all the good, all the bad, is amused by your quirks and oddities, and loves you to the moon and back anyway.

How come I wasn’t as sure as he was?

The question itself wasn’t popped until about a year later, and by then, I was ready. We knew each other better. We were totally in love with one another.

And one day, he decided to take me ring shopping, to show him the kind of ring I liked.

It was a traditional one-diamond, gold band ring. Simple. Shiny. Beautiful. Full of promise.

I was never a big fan of huge engagement rings… I know some ladies are, but it was never me. I don’t need the bling when I have the love.

And then the big day came.

December 10th, 1995.

We were going for a walk near the escarpment we lived by. We spent a lot of time with friends in that forest area, just hanging out, when there was no where else to hang out.

It was dark outside, and snowing. Oh, the snow was so beautiful.

Humongous, fat flakes fell silently to the ground. There was no breeze, it was just so pretty. It was almost like confetti.

Devin swung around in front of me, and bent to one knee.

Then the waterworks began as I started to cry, realizing what was about to happen. He asked me to be his wife, as I continued to cry, and his knee began to freeze in the snow.

“Yes!”

We were married just under two years later, on December 7th, 1997, and have been at each other’s side, ever since. We look forward to renewing our vows in front of all of our friends in two years, celebrating twenty years of marriage.

4 thoughts on “Our Ring Story

  1. Chel says:

    Such a cute story. I love that you had the guts to ask him about once you read his entry… not many would.

    Perks about finding that one person – you’re not afraid to speak your mind because you know that they will listen. So fantastic and I only wish to inspire myself to be that lucky with my husband. We are celebrating almost two years married. I’m excited.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ddr_74 says:

      Thank you for reading… 🙂 I agree, that’s the way a relationship should be, spilling your guts without being judged lol! Congrats on almost two years.. I hope you write a post about it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

